License Playbook

How to get a Colorado life & health license

Requirements, exam, fees and the order to do things in — from the Colorado Division of Insurance and the exam handbook.

50 hpre-licensing
$41exam fee
Pearson VUEexam vendor
$170state fees total

Step by step

  1. Complete pre-licensing education — 50 hours from a Colorado-approved provider.
  2. Schedule and pass the state exam with Pearson VUE ($41). Read the candidate handbook.
  3. Get fingerprinted if required — Not stated in handbook or NIPR rules; reportedly not required.
  4. Apply for the license through NIPR or the Colorado Division of Insurance ($44).
  5. Get appointed by an insurance company (agents) and keep up with continuing education — 24 hours per renewal (license term: 2 years).

Pre-licensing & exam prep courses

Pick a course approved in Colorado. Some links may be affiliate links.

Colorado Life & Health requirements

LifeAccident & Health
Pre-licensing education50 hours50 hours
Exam vendorPearson VUEPearson VUE
Exam fee$41$41
Questions / time90 · 120 min91 · 120 min
License application fee$44$44
FingerprintsNot stated in handbook or NIPR rules; reportedly not required verifyNot stated in handbook or NIPR rules; reportedly not required verify
Continuing education24 hours · 2 years24 hours · 2 years

Life: Single CO producer license; 50 hrs per major line (Reg 1-2-05, 3 hrs ethics); $41 covers up to 2 exams in one session; questions = 80 scored + 10 pretest (from content outline); app fee $44 per line of authority; CE 24 hrs/2 yrs incl 3 ethics.

Accident & Health: Separate Life and A&H lines/exams; questions = 80 scored + 11 pretest per outline.

Minimum age 18. Sources: Pearson VUE Colorado Insurance Candidate Handbook · Colorado Insurance Content Outlines (Pearson VUE) · CO Reg 1-2-05 prelicensing education · NIPR Colorado resident licensing. Checked 2026-10. Values marked verify haven't been confirmed against an official source yet.

Get a free Colorado Life & Health study plan

A week-by-week exam plan, the exam outline and reminders to book fingerprints and apply. Free; launching soon, join the list.

Life & Health license rules across the US

None required1–20 h21–40 h40+ h

Other Colorado licenses

Property & Casualty license · Adjuster license · All Colorado insurance licenses

Questions

How long does it take to get a life and health insurance license in Colorado?

The 50 hours of pre-licensing take most people 1–3 weeks. After you pass, license approval usually takes a few days to a few weeks after fingerprints clear.

How much does a Colorado Life & Health license cost?

State fees (exam + application) come to about $170, plus fingerprints and a course if you take one.

Who runs the Colorado insurance exam?

Pearson VUE. Book the exam on the vendor's site after reading the candidate handbook.